Share Share on Facebook Tweet Send on Viber

It already feels so long ago since the hit television show Game of Thrones premiered its final episodes, much to the disappointment of viewers (both literally and critically). But despite how the show ended, fans can look forward to re-entering the world of Westeros in the upcoming prequel series again helmed by HBO.

The still-unnamed prequel will take place during Westeros’ Age of Heroes, thousands of years before the events of GoT so don’t expect the likes of Jon Snow and Tyrion Lannister to be around – or can we?

In an interviewGoT creator George R.R. Martin confirmed that Starks will be present in the prequel series, given their involvement in the history of his novels; for example Bran the Builder, namesake of GoT‘s Bran the Broken, was responsible for building the Wall, Winterfell, and more Westerosi structures.

“The Starks will definitely be there. There are things like direwolves and mammoths,” said Martin, meaning we will see more of our favorite canine creatures, maybe even bigger but just as epic.

Martin also said that the dreaded White Walkers will be there, “or as they’re called in my books, The Others”, which will excite fans if the show will tackle the famed Long Night which pitted the Walkers against men and the Children of the Forest.

Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister in “Game of Thrones”

No Lannisters or Seven Kingdoms

The Starks’ presence is understandable, but fans shouldn’t expect other recognizable families to be around like the Lannisters. “The Lannisters aren’t there yet, but Casterly Rock is certainly there,” said Martin, “It’s actually occupied by the Casterlys.”

For those familiar with GoT history, Casterly Rock belonged to House Casterly before a trickster named Lann the Clever fools them into giving him the castle, hence starting House Lannister.

Additionally, Martin said that because this era is set many years before the arrival of the Targaryens, there will be around a hundred kingdoms picking on each other instead of the familiar Seven Kingdoms of Westeros.

“We talk about the Seven Kingdoms of Westeros; there were Seven Kingdoms at the time of Aegon’s Conquest,” says Martin. “But if you go back further, then there are nine kingdoms, and 12 kingdoms, and eventually you get back to where there are 100 kingdoms — petty kingdoms — and that’s the era we’re talking about here.”

Martin said they began shooting the pilot episode of the prequel series in June, making sure that they will do ‘the best show possible.’ What do you want to see in the Game of Thrones prequel series?


Share Share on Facebook Tweet Send on Viber