Share Share on Facebook Tweet Send on Viber

After announcing in 2011 that the members are separating ways, Westlife is officially back with brand new music.

Armed with that good ol’ boy band vocals and even better looks, the group—composed of Kian Egan, Nicky Byrne, Mark Feehily and Shane Filan—released their comeback single, “Hello My Love.” It is their first single in eight years.

“It isn’t your typical Westlife song,” Egan said in an interview, adding that British singer and songwriter Ed Sheeran wrote the pop anthem with long-time Westlife collaborator, Steve Mac.

There were initial concerns over where the band’s music can be in the current market, as opposed to just being a nostalgia act. “[I said] we need Ed Sheeran or someone of that ilk,” he said. “Little did we know that Ed was in the background saying, ‘I want to write a Westlife tune.'”

The quartet is also embarking on The Twenty Tour, a series of performances in 10 cities across Europe. It’s officially their fastest-selling tour to date, with over 400,000 tickets sold in 48 hours. As of writing, there is no announcement of possible shows in North America or Asia, including the Philippines.

The act behind hits such as “Swear It Again,” “Flying Without Wings,” and “If I Let You Go,” Westlife recently signed new record deal with Virgin EMI, with a new album set to be released this year.

Watch the official music video here:


Share Share on Facebook Tweet Send on Viber